Pain in the Membrane

I’ve learned that brain surgery is no excuse for being lazy.  You can’t use the line, “I can’t exercise because I have a hole in head” for long.

Before my operation, I would try to work out at least four or five times a week. I made sure I did an equal amount of cardio and strength training. I’m not doing this so much anymore. My exercise consists of walking two miles, twice a week now. I’ve decided it’s time for a change! I can’t get better, if I don’t make healthier choices. I want to work my way up to complete a 5K.

Yesterday, I did my first jog/run since surgery. I got tired easier than I used to. My legs haven’t tasted so much movement in a long time, but I did it. I completed my 30-minute workout, and it felt good!

The “feeling good” part didn’t last long. A headache began brewing in my head. It was subtle, but quickly became a throbbing mess. Headaches are common post-surgery. I just didn’t expect this one.

Every now and then, I feel the healing process is digressing instead of progressing. Little setbacks make you believe the worst is about to happen. It should be no surprise to me that this pain would happen. I’m activating and putting my brain to work. I just need to remember things are always harder before they get easier.

Being in pain is terrible, but with time, I know things will be better. It took me a long time to get myself to start writing a blog, but I did it. I think my next goal will be to accomplish a 5K!

RunningThis is enough writing for now. Wish me luck because it’s time for a run!

Leave a Reply

